Channel Register

Comments on: Botnet farmers play the international exchange game

Need to make up a phony trojan 

Posted Wednesday 19th March 2008 17:54 GMT

Just make up a fake one that emulates lots of real malware but doesn't send anything of interest back to the "mother ship". Then they send you $$$ (am I dreaming?) and they get nothing.

Just the ticket. Malware for the malware people. Similar to click fraud on Google, I suppose. You want botnets, we got botnets. Do they do anything? No, but we got botnets.

If it were only true! (*SIGH*)

"... a shortened version of its name ..." 

Posted Wednesday 19th March 2008 18:49 GMT

Alert

" The site is loaded with malware and for that reason we'll refer to it by a shortened version of its name, installscash.org. "

That's not shortened at all, that's the exact full name.

http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla%3Aen-GB%3Aofficial&hs=Ufi&q=%22You+won%27t+lose+your+unique+visitors+with+us%21+You+can+also+have+your+own+exe%22&btnG=Search&meta=

Humour 2.0 

Posted Wednesday 19th March 2008 19:06 GMT

Happy

"cybercrime 2.0."

Love it. Very funny. Hate them though.

Why pay to install spyware in the UK? 

Posted Thursday 20th March 2008 09:16 GMT

Coat

Just get a job at Phorm...

Re "... a shortened version of its name ..." 

Posted Thursday 20th March 2008 09:44 GMT

Alert

No its not! theres a bit before the .installscash and its not www.

oh and thanks for telling us all you use Firefox, nice to know.

Re "... a shortened version of its name ..." 

Posted Thursday 20th March 2008 11:19 GMT

Boffin

What's also interesting is that Google has not flagged that site with stopbadware.org as it usually does...

For those without FF+ABP+NS or those not game to have a look, here's a rundown:

The site itself looks very slick... The English is well written with no spelling or grammatical errors that I could find, and some time has been spent on the graphics and layout, it has a very typical shiny-glass 2.0 look to it. Pages accessible from the front page are Home, Terms, FAQ (!), Sign Up, About Us, Rates and a Login button. You could be forgiven for thinking it was a legitimate business site at first glance!

Looking at the source, I can't find any suspect Javascript but it does try to run a Flash object - which is almost certainly where the malware comes from. I couldn't find any iframes or external script calls on the pages I looked at. The site uses PHP to display its pages, and the HTML is not W3C compliant; no DOCTYPE, some HTML tags are uppercase, and it uses deprecated elements and attributes.

Interestingly, the WHOIS turns up two names and addresses in Iowa City, USA. A little email to the FBI is in order, methinks...

Finally, that "phony trojan" is a fantastic idea, and I'll be passing that along to some friends who will be able to make good use of it...